Choosing Life

Deuteronomy 30:19-20

Capture the Moment May 9, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — SAD @ 7:40 am

Yesterday the kids and I had the opportunity to visit the Daegu Culture and Arts Center to view the “Capture the Moment:  The Pulitzer Prize Photographs” exhibit.

IMG_4792

Every winning Pulitzer Prize photograph since 1942, accompanied by an explanation of the scene obtained through personal interviews with the photographers, was on display.  Several of the prize winners had “sister” photographs as well, bringing the total number of photos displayed to 230.    Words cannot describe the depth and range of emotions contained in this exhibit.

After touring the displays the first time, after having read every single explanation of the time period and scene each photograph represents, I went back through a second time just to observe and reflect on what I saw and felt in these works of art.  In the back of my “Capture the Moment” guidebook, I wrote down the words I associated with each picture…

hate, desperation, joy, bravery, fear, violence, celebration, risk, power, rescue, hope, grief, loss, tragedy, help, care, regret, forgiveness, revenge, pain, war, courage, injustice, loneliness, hopelessness, life, embarrassment, searching, relief, survival, victory, hunger, struggle, sacrifice, defeat, evil, peace, elation, freedom, rage, seeking, peace, horror, determination, devastation, strength, chaos  

Needless to say, my emotions ran the gamut.  One of the workers even had to bring Mary and me some Kleenex.  I wanted to cheer with the families in the photographs who were running to greet their soldier, husband, father.  I wanted to cry with the fireman of the Oklahoma City Bombing.  I wanted to rage against the injustice, comfort those in their loss, and celebrate with those in victory.

And the Holy Spirit spoke to my soul, “I am with you always, even to the ends of the world.”  In all of the tragedy, pain, evil, and hurt displayed in these photographs, I was reminded that God has been in every one of those places…seeing exactly what the photographer captured and even deeper into the heart where no camera will ever see.  Oh how He must grieve!

But did you notice?  Mixed in amongst the horror were moments of victory, joy, celebration, life, and hope.  There is always hope.  Hope of Salvation.  Hope in Christ.  Hope in a new heaven and a new earth.

“Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea no longer existed. I also saw the Holy City, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared like a bride adorned for her husband.

Then I heard a loud voice from the throne: Look! God’s dwelling is with humanity, and He will live with them. They will be His people, and God Himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes. Death will no longer exist; grief, crying, and pain will exist no longer, because the previous things have passed away. Then the One seated on the throne said,’Look! I am making everything new.'”

Revelation 21:1-5a

What a day, glorious day, that will be!

 

Leave a comment