Choosing Life

Deuteronomy 30:19-20

My Favorite Place March 31, 2020

Filed under: Uncategorized — SAD @ 9:22 pm

All over Facebook I have seen the challenge to post a picture of a place I’ve visited without me actually in the picture…no description, just a picture.  At first, this challenge seemed daunting to me because I have been to a lot of really amazing places and seen so many amazing things.  Because I have a tendency to always want to pick the “right” thing or make the “exact right” choice, I didn’t really know how I could possibly choose one picture.

DSC_4608

Denali in fall

DSC_6228.jpg

Yellowstone in May

DSC_8691.jpg

Jeju Island, South Korea

DSC_9658.jpg

Singapore in December

MTC_2458.jpg

Great Wall of China

IMG_2347.jpg

Hawaii in spring

MTC_4364.jpg

Texas in spring

Copy of 12 Caesarea.jpg

Caesarea Maritima

MTC_4891.jpg

En Gedi, Israel

MTC_5102.jpg

The Jordan River

See?  Lots of amazing places.  But as I contemplated more and more which picture I would choose, another image came to mind.  While it is not the most amazing place I have ever seen with my eyes, it is absolutely the most amazing place I’ve seen with my heart.

Copy of 1 tomb with round stone.jpg

1st century Jewish tomb

Yes, an empty tomb.  This place is not the most visually stunning place I’ve visited; however, of all the places I’ve been, the empty tomb has been the most life-changing.  When I visited the empty tomb, many years ago, I found forgiveness, redemption, hope, peace, and love.  When God created man, He knew that I would mess up, yet He had a plan in mind – and in motion – from the very beginning to redeem me back to Himself…to live in harmony with Him and with others.  That plan included the sacrifice of His one and only perfect Son, Jesus Christ.  When Jesus died on the cross to release me from the bonds of slavery to sin, He made the way for redemption and restored harmony and fellowship between God and me.  When He defeated death, though, by leaving that tomb empty, He made the way for that harmony and fellowship to extend into eternity.  During this season, take the time to ask yourself a couple of questions.  Have you been to the empty tomb?  Have you experienced the beauty ~ the forgiveness and peace ~ found there?  If you haven’t ever visited, now would be a great time to make plans to go.  And if you need a tour guide, I’d be happy to help.

 

Leave a comment