Choosing Life

Deuteronomy 30:19-20

North to Alaska August 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — SAD @ 2:52 am

We began our long journey north this morning around 6:20 a.m., but oops, Mom forgot her Daytimer. After going back the few miles to her house to retrieve it, we got back on the road about 6:40. The trip to Amarillo was very uneventful….an answer to prayer. On the way, though, as we talked about the beautiful scenery we are going to experience through Colorado, Wyoming, Montana, and Canada, I took just a minute to view what was all around me right in the great state of Texas…miles and miles of wide open spaces and clear blue skies. Though it’s not the majestic mountains, the high plains are still an inspiring portrait of our creative God. The fields of cotton and even the land that is now showing signs of life after devastating fires earlier this year are reminders of God’s provision. We noted several fields that are lying fallow this season, and I wondered when it was that man first figured out that rotating crops was a good idea. I was quickly reminded of God’s instructions in the Bible. In Deuteronomy and Leviticus, God outlines a plan for sowing and reaping for six years and then allowing the land to rest. I was instantly aware of the Holy Spirit speaking to my heart…reminding me that if He has a plan for the miles and miles of wide open spaces and clear blue skies, then He most certainly has a plan for me, even my move to Alaska.

Image Detail