Choosing Life

Deuteronomy 30:19-20

10 Down and 1 To Go August 28, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — SAD @ 1:04 am

photo taken at the Sign Post Forest in Watson Lake, Yukon Territory

Yeah! We are nearing the end of our journey to Fort Wainwright, Alaska. We were scheduled to travel to Whitehorse, Yukon today…to Beaver Creek, YT tomorrow …and then to Fort Wainwright; however, I decided to drive just 1 1/2 hours more today and a little longer tomorrow so that we will reach our destination one day early. We are all anxious to be there even though we are looking at another week of hotel stays. At least we can unpack our suitcases a little…do some laundry…and stay out of the car!

It was another day of wonderful scenery but still no bears. In fact, the only animal I saw was a beautiful red fox wandering along the roadway.  Oh, wait…there was one bear…Joseph had a good time leading me into this rest stop with my eyes closed…only to have me open them to this greeting.

After arriving at our hotel this afternoon, we enjoyed a FABULOUS dinner at the hotel’s restaurant.  The chef is from Hungary, and he prepared authentic Hungarian cuisine.  The kids had Hungarian goulash stew, and the adults tried the cabbage rolls.  Everyone had a clean plate!  More amazing than the food, though, is the view from our room.  These mountains are part of the Kluane Mountain Range.

Last but not least, today, our 10th day on the road, was my dad’s 70th birthday.  I am so blessed to have a father who loves the Lord and follows Him and who passed that love on to me, teaching me the truths of God’s Word all my life.  Second, I am grateful to God that He allowed both of my parents to come on this amazing trip with me, not only for practical reasons but also for the time that we will hopefully hold close in our hearts forever.  We have sung songs, laughed, marveled at God’s handiwork, and even cried a little along the way.  Thanks, Mom & Dad, for the help, but more than that, thanks for the memories!