Choosing Life

Deuteronomy 30:19-20

Mile 0 August 25, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — SAD @ 4:50 am

We drove from Hinton, Alberta today to Dawson Creek, British Columbia. It was a bit shorter than previous days but still a 5 hour driving day. The 7-8% grades (at least) slow us down just a bit, but I am learning to love the power of a V8 F150!

We stopped for just a couple of fun “tourist” photo-ops. The first is at Beaverlodge, Alberta. Libby didn’t quite know what to make of the giant beaver staring at her, but I think she believed she could take it down if necessary.

We arrived at our destination, Dawson Creek, just a little earlier than usual, so we took some time to walk down to the famous Alaska Highway Cairn. We had fun taking pictures and visiting the local art gallery located in the old grain elevators.

I have been trying to think of some deep-thought to share about our trip today, but all we have done now is settled into driving. We are past the initial excitement of the grand adventure; we have visited all the people we know along the way; we have finished our scenic day of touring. Now, we are just driving miles and miles of road…with 1500 more to go.

Even as I type this, though, I am reminded of scripture ~
Philippians 3:12-14 — Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Sometimes in my life, I feel much like I did on the drive today…not on a mountaintop…not necessarily in a valley…just somewhere and nowhere all at the same time. I must remember that during those times, I need to do exactly what I did today….stop along the way to take in the sights around me and then press on. After all, there’s a prize waiting for me at the end of my journey!